Henry Paul, Outlaws, Blackhawk, and Luck

In working on the Beaux Arts book, I discovered Henry Paul, who founded one of the first southern rock bands in the 1970’s called the Outlaws. In 1974 the Outlaws were  lucky to be the first rock band signed by Clive Davis on his new Arista Records label after he left Columbia Records. His ego was riding on their success so they were going to succeed. I connected with Henry through Roger Salzillo. Henry responded with the following:

Hi Eliza, I’m responding to your interview request. I hope this note finds you in good health and doing well…

Hi Henry, I read somewhere that your first live performance was at Beaux Arts. Who turned you onto it?
I’m not sure how I found out about Beaux Arts. It was a subterranean destination for the beat fringe.

About what years were you there?
I started going to Beaux Arts in 1966 and hung around there on and off until 1970.

What was your first impression?
It was as close to cool as I could find in the bay area. Counter culture all the way!

Which players impressed you, helped you find your style?
There were so many talented singer songwriters around back then. Their names escape me but I do remember Danny Finley. I remember Barry Sims, a guy named Tom, and a guy named Doug. the guy named Doug I think went on to be a dam tender in Roulet Park.

Who did you play with there?
I played with everyone in the back room where you hung out before you went on. That’s where I spent most of my time. When I went up to play on stage I played by myself.

When/where did you meet Richard Leps?
I met Richard Lepps at the White Springs Folk Festival. He was there with Michael doing their duo deal.

Did he ever make smoked mullet for you?
I’ve never had Richard’s smoked mullet but I have gone clamming with him and Buddy Klein down in Tera Cia Bay.

Who influenced your move to rock, or was it country rock?
8. I think like Steven Stills and Richie Furray from the Buffalo Springfield or Jesse Colin Young of the Youngbloods I was motivated in that direction with the advent of the album Highway 61, or Bringing It All Back Home.

I love southern humor, lyrics like “Everybody wants to get to heaven, but nobody wants to die.” What inspired your first hit? Ok your favorite song, whether or not it was a hit?
9. I’m inspired by some of the more subtle nuances of love, separation, death, and dreams.

What changes do you see coming up?
10. I’m still involved in my musical career on an everyday basis. I have visions of the future and I’m engaged in the efforts to bring that to life. It’s like looking at the world through a tube. You see a little scene very clearly and not much else.

I’ll give you a call Where do you live?

Henry

p.s. I’ve attached a song about growing up in the sixties. It’s called “The Line Between The Numbers”

Henry Paul site, Outlaws, Blackhawk

2 Responses to Henry Paul, Outlaws, Blackhawk, and Luck

  1. Terry L says:

    Are you talking about the Beaux Arts Coffee House in Pinellas Park Fla? I used to go there between 1965 and 1968 while going to USF in Tampa. Barry Sims was a friend of mine but I long since have lost track

Leave a Reply

